Skip to content Menu

The Small Institutions Council is a standing council appointed by the NACUBO President in consultation with the regional associations. The Council is established to ensure that issues of specific concern to small colleges, minority institutions, and independent schools are represented and addressed in the development of the association’s strategic goals and plans and in the creation of programs, products, and services for its members. The Small Institutions Council serves as an advisory body to the President and staff by providing suggestions, feedback, and support for the association’s goals and activities as they pertain to the constituency.


Top Issues 2017-2018

  • Solvency and budget shortfalls
  • Liberal arts curriculum versus market drive for outcomes
  • Discount rates and net tuition revenue
  • Aging facilities
  • Viability and new economic business models
  • Implementing a new academic business model, including concerns about faculty workload and capacity
  • Developing alternate revenue streams


Top Issues for 2020 and Beyond

  • Managing the endowment; adjusting the spending policy and identifying alternative sources of revenue (e.g., differential pricing, offering online and blended learning); maintaining affordability; attention to price and student debt
  • Accountability - Compliance with government relations; enterprise risk management
  • Infrastructure - Ongoing facilities arms race; maintaining the campus in peak condition
  • Human resources - Issues related to an aging workforce; anticipating turnover; managing staff expectations; affording employee healthcare
  • Sustainability - keeping the Carbon Commitment (formerly, the American College and University Presidents' Climate Commitment); keeping current with energy sources


Council Members 2018-2019

Stephen Schafer (Chair)
Vice President for Finance and Operations
Sarah Lawrence College

Brad Baca
Executive Vice President & Chief Operating Officer
Western State Colorado University

Amy Blackwell
Associate Vice President for Finance
Furman University

Shawn Curtin
Vice President for Finance and Administration
Lebanon Valley College

Paul Davies
Vice President of Administration and Finance
Randolph-Macon College

Donna Frank
Vice President for Finance and Administration
Tiffin University

Clair Knapp
Chief Business Officer and Vice President for Finance
Manchester University

Lynne Lochte
Vice President for Finance and Administration
Goucher College

Sherry Mondou
Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer
University of Puget Sound

Chip Prescott
Vice President of Finance and General Counsel
Wilkes University

Margaret Tungseth
Vice President, Finance and Administration
Hamline University

Rebecca Vazquez-Skillings
Vice President for Finance and Administration
Oberlin College


Ankur T. Ponda

Director, Leadership Development


Related Content

Key Facilities Metrics Survey

The fifth year of the survey just closed - next survey opens Aug 2019 for the 2018-19 cycle.

Space and Energy Issues

Sustainability Checklist

Evaluate your campus sustainability against these categories.