Skip to content Menu

NACUBO Awards Recipients Among the Best in Higher Education Business and Finance


Montreal—For their outstanding contributions and innovative programs, five higher education leaders and six institutions have received awards from the National Association of College and University Business Officers (NACUBO). 

NACUBO's annual awards honor individual and institutional excellence in higher education business and financial management, and were presented during the organization's annual meeting in Montreal.

"As we gather to examine the cornerstones of higher education and pave the way for the future, it's fitting that we recognize these meritorious leaders and institutions," said John Walda, president and CEO of NACUBO. "Each recipient is an example of the best of the sector and its tireless dedication to excellence."

2016 Distinguished Business Officer Award
This year, two leaders received NACUBO's most prestigious honor, the Distinguished Business Officer Award, for their outstanding contributions to business and financial management in higher education.

Jairy C. Hunter Jr., president of Charleston Southern University, has led his institution since 1984. Since he took the helm, student enrollment has doubled, degree and athletic program offerings have increased, and alumni giving has risen fivefold.

As vice chancellor for finance and operations at the University of Massachusetts Lowell, Joanne Yestramski has transformed all of the varied operational divisions under her direction, including facilities management and planning, information technology, university police, financial services, and human resources. Also during her tenure, total endowments and annual private funding have doubled, and annual research and development expenditures have nearly doubled as well.

2016 Daniel D. Robinson Accounting Award
Kimberly L. Kvaal, vice president for financial affairs at St. Edward's University in Austin, received the 2016 Daniel D. Robinson Accounting Award for her continuous commitment to the advancement of college and university accounting and financial reporting. Her outstanding contributions to NACUBO include service on the Accounting Principles Council since 2012 and as a member of the Intermediate Accounting and Reporting faculty since 2010.

2016 Rising Star Award
The Rising Star Award recognizes an outstanding professional with high potential to succeed as an executive and business officer at a college or university. The 2016 recipient is Jeffrey M. Ratje, treasurer and associate dean of finance and administration at the University of Arizona, Tucson, where he has transformed the institution's business model.

2016 Professional Development Award
Charles Tegen, Clemson University's associate vice president for finance, was awarded the 2016 Professional Development Award for his notable and extensive contributions to NACUBO, including service as NACUBO board chair (2012-13) as well as on the Accounting Principles Council, the Ad Hoc Cost of College Advisory Committee, and the Higher Education Accounting Forum Program Committee, among other positions. 

2016 Innovation Awards
NACUBO honors institutions that have improved processes or enhanced resources. This year's Innovation Award recipients are:

  • Brandman University for its Competency-Based Education (CBE) One Stop Middleware Portal, a first-of-its-kind, real-time integrated point-of-service system that allows the institution's functional business units to efficiently manage the entire student lifecycle within a CBE environment.
  • The Community College of Baltimore County for Green Begets Green, a multipronged approach to reduce the institution's carbon footprint while achieving cost savings.
  • Emory University (Atlanta) for WaterHub, an on-site water recycling system built to address the critical issue of access to potable water, and which also will save the university millions of dollars over time and provide educational opportunities.
  • Lasell College (Newton, Mass.) for its collaborations with other colleges that have cut costs, improved services, and enhanced community relations, including a combined police department with Mount Ida College and a shared information technology department with Pine Manor College.
  • Simon Fraser University (British Columbia) for the Zero Waste Initiative, which has substantially increased the amount of campus waste diverted from landfills, despite a growing university population.
  • The University of California, Irvine Transportation and Distribution Services for the inField Web-based Application, an in-house app that has increased efficiency and reduced paper use in daily management of campus parking facilities.

NACUBO, founded in 1962, is a nonprofit professional organization representing chief administrative and financial officers at more than 2,100 colleges and universities across the country. NACUBO's mission is to advance the economic viability, business practices and support for higher education institutions in fulfillment of their missions. For more information, visit


Katy Hopkins
Public Relations Manager