Skip to content Menu

NACUBO Honors Campus Business Professionals and Institutions Driving Excellence in Higher Education


Nashville, TN (July 20, 2015) - For their exceptional achievements in college and university business and financial management, six professionals and five higher education institutions have received awards from the National Association of College and University Business Officers (NACUBO). 

NACUBO recognized this year's honorees last evening as part of its annual meeting taking place in Nashville July 18-21 under the theme, "The Tempo of Change."  

"At a pivotal time in higher education, these outstanding individuals and institutions have set the tone for excellence across the sector," said NACUBO president and CEO John Walda. "We are proud to honor these worthy recipients as models of professionalism and innovation in campus management and finance."

2015 Distinguished Business Officer Award 

John D. Patterson, vice president for administration and campus life at Pittsburg State University, is the recipient of NACUBO's most prestigious honor, the 2015 Distinguished Business Officer Award, for his outstanding contributions to business and financial management in higher education. Over his 25-year tenure at Pittsburg State University, enrollment and staff figures have increased 27 and 37 percent, respectively, and as treasurer of the university's foundation, total assets rose from $9 million to $84 million.

2015 Tax Award

The 2015 Tax Award recognizes individuals who demonstrate an outstanding commitment to NACUBO's tax advocacy efforts, educational programs, and publications focusing on higher education tax compliance and administration. Two professionals received the honor this year: Dominic L. Daher, director of Internal Audit and Tax Compliance at the University of San Francisco, and Joel F. Levenson, associate director of Tax Compliance at the University of Central Florida.

2015 Professional Development Award 

Cynthia Teniente-Matson, president of Texas A&M University-San Antonio and former NACUBO board chair, received the 2015 Professional Development Award for her notable contributions to NACUBO professional development activities and publication programs. 

2015 Rodney H. Adams Endowment Management Award

Lawrence E. Kochard, chief executive officer/chief investment officer of the University of Virginia Investment Management Company, is this year's honoree for his contributions to professional development activities within university endowment and investment management.

2015 Rising Star Award 

The Rising Star Award recognizes an up-and-coming individual in the areas of finance, administration and business. This year's recipient is Jennifer Chambers, assistant dean for finance and administration for Portland State University's College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.  

2015 Innovation Awards 
NACUBO honors individual colleges and universities that have improved processes or enhanced resources. This year's Innovation Awards recipients are:

Bristol Community College, for its zero net energy-designed health and science building
Oregon State University, for its Cooperative Open Reporting Environment initiative to improve access to and accuracy of institutional data
Texas A&M University, for its Health Science Center's eduSafe mobile safety and security application
The College of New Rochelle, for its shared-services business model for technology solutions
The George Washington University, for its analytics tool, the Principal Investigator Dashboard

Photos of each individual honoree are available online. Please contact Katy Hopkins for more information.

NACUBO, founded in 1962, is a nonprofit professional organization representing chief administrative and financial officers at more than 2,100 colleges and universities across the country. NACUBO's mission is to advance the economic viability, business practices and support for higher education institutions in fulfillment of their missions. For more information, visit


Katy Hopkins
Public Relations Manager