Skip to content Menu

Updated 2/27/2020 

The NACUBO Fellows Program is a one-year leadership development program designed to provide support, education, and learning opportunities to individuals who seek a chief business officer position for their next role. In just three years of the program, at least six Fellows alumni have already achieved their goal of becoming a CBO.

Congratulations to these recently promoted CBOs:

  • Dawn Alston, 2016-17 Fellow – Spelman College chief financial officer and vice president for business and financial affairs
    Past assistant vice president for business and financial affairs
  • Jean Cibuzar, 2017-18 Fellow – American Association of State Colleges and Universities vice president of administration and finance
    Past Gallaudet University executive director, finance
  • Stephen Hietsch, 2017-18 Fellow – St. Lawrence University vice president for finance and administration
    Past Dickinson College associate vice president, auxiliary services and budget management
  • Beverly Cotton Shuford, 2016-17 Fellow – University of Alaska Anchorage vice chancellor for administrative Services
    Past University of North Texas associate vice president, budget and analytics
  • Sara Thorndike, 2017-18 Fellow – East Carolina University vice chancellor, administration and finance
    Past University of North Carolina Wilmington associate vice chancellor for finance and controller
  • Ginny Gomez-Leon, 2018-19 Fellow – University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio vice president and chief financial officer
    Past associate vice president for budget and planning



NACUBO is also pleased to congratulate the Fellows Program alumni who have been promoted to other leadership roles, including: 

  • G. Scott Bitner, 2017-18 Fellow – University of Maryland, Baltimore senior associate vice president and deputy chief financial officer
    Past associate vice president, budget and finance
  • Paul Byrnes, 2016-17 Fellow – Emory University associate vice provost, administration and planning
    Past Laney Graduate School chief business officer
  • Mark Detterick, 2016-17 Fellow – University of Richmond senior associate vice president, finance and administration
    Past associate vice president, financial planning and budget
  • Terence Finley, 2017-18 Fellow – Prairie View A&M University assistant vice president for business services
    Past leadership development and organizational excellence officer
  • Lisa Imbragulio, 2017-18 Fellow – Samford University senior associate vice president for business and financial affairs
    Past associate vice president for business and financial affairs
  • Aaron LeMay, 2017-18 Fellow – University of Texas Medical Branch vice president, financial accounting and reporting
    Past University of North Texas System associate vice chancellor for finance and system controller
  • F. Ward Logan, 2017-18 Fellow – The Citadel deputy chief financial officer
    Past controller and director of financial services
  • Joe Sobieralski, 2017-18 Fellow – University of South Carolina assistant vice president of administrative operations
    Past budget director
  • James Gorman, 2019-20 Fellow – University of Virginia managing director, finance strategic projects
    Past senior director of finance strategic projects
  • William Nelson, 2019-20 Fellow – Virginia Commonwealth University executive director for academic finance and administration 
    Past University of the District of Columbia associate dean for administration and finance, David A. Clarke School of Law


Elizabeth LaRocca

Senior Director, Leadership Development


Related Content

With Deepened Resolve, NACUBO Looks to Effect Change in 2021

The siege at the U.S. Capitol on January 6 has deepened NACUBO’s resolve as a higher education advocate in Washington, DC, and strengthened our professional commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion, writes Liz Clark, vice president for policy and research.

NACUBO Fellows Program Alumni Reach Chief Business Officer Positions

Since the program launched in 2016, many alumni have already advanced in their careers.

13 Exceptional Business and Finance Leaders Selected for NACUBO Fellows Program

“Over the last year, the COVID-19 pandemic’s stressors on higher education underscored the importance of strategic, nimble, and confident chief business officers who can navigate unforeseen challenges while helping their institutions continue to serve students and successfully meet their missions,” said NACUBO President and CEO Susan Whealler Johnston. “We welcome this diverse group of new Fellows and look forward to helping them grow as the next generation of leaders.”