Skip to content Menu

The Department of Education has selected four universities as recipients of the 2019 Green Ribbon Schools award for achievements in the areas of sustainability and health.

The Green Ribbon Schools program criteria includes reduced environmental impact and costs, improved health and wellness, and effective environmental education. This year, 35 schools, 14 school districts, and four universities were recognized.

The four postsecondary Green Ribbon Schools this year are all NACUBO members:                           

  • Troy University
  • Georgia College & State University *
  • Loyola University Chicago
  • Millersville University of Pennsylvania *

*These institutions are or have been represented on NACUBO’s Sustainability Advisory Panel. Posters about these campuses’ successes will be on display at the NACUBO 2019 Annual Meeting, and their vice presidents will be available to discuss them on Sunday, July 14 from 11:30 am – noon.


Sally Grans Korsh

Senior Advisor


Related Content

What Did I Miss in Washington? February 5-19, 2019

A key Senate chairman sets his sights on Higher Education Act reauthorization, bipartisan legislation to expand Section 127 employer-provided tuition benefits is introduced, and more.

15 Campuses Recognized as Green Power Leaders

The Environmental Protection Agency has recognized 15 colleges and universities among its Top 100 Green Power Partners.

What Did I Miss in Washington? April 30-May 13, 2019

In this edition: House appropriators approve increased FY20 funding for ED, the IRS announces retirement and deferred compensation plan audits, and more.