Skip to content Menu

Now Accepting Nominations

This award recognizes leadership and continuous commitment to college and university accounting and reporting. NACUBO is currently accepting nominations through online through February 28, 2024. Awards will be presented at the Higher Education Accounting Forum April 28–30 in Atlanta.

View the award criteria and nomination requirements here. Should you have question email Kimberlee Berry at

Online Nomination Form

This award is supported in part by a generous sponsorship from Huron Consulting.

Huron Logo

Previous Recipients


Shea Bryant

Shea Bryant, Michigan State University 

Shea Bryant, financial analysis and reporting manager at Michigan State University, received the 2023 Daniel D. Robinson Accounting Award. As his institution implemented a new student information system, Bryant led the effort to incorporate NACUBO's forthcoming guidance on tuition discounting for public institutions. He is a frequent presenter at NACUBO events and has served on the Accounting Principles Council since 2021.



Kelli Perry

Kelli Perry, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Kelli Perry, assistant vice president for finance and controller at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, has received the 2022 Daniel D. Robinson Accounting Award. As a leader at her institution, Perry streamlined purchasing and created a financial responsibility supplemental schedule that can be audited. She is a very active NACUBO volunteer, frequently speaking at accounting conferences and serving as chair of the Accounting Principles Council. She also has participated in two negotiated rulemaking sessions at the Department of Education, among other advocacy efforts.



Sharon Heinle

Sharon Heinle, George Mason University

Sharon Heinle is the associate vice president and controller at George Mason University. A long-time volunteer for NACUBO, Heinle chairs the NACUBO Accounting Principles Council and is the NACUBO representative on the AICPA Not-for-Profit Expert Panel. Colleagues credit her as a key source of information on the impacts of new standards. She also is a frequent presenter at higher education, nonprofit, and financial industry conferences.



Tom Ewing

Tom Ewing, Ohio State University

Tom Ewing, director of financial reporting at The Ohio State University (OSU), has received the 2020 Daniel D. Robinson Accounting Award in recognition of his leadership and continuous commitment to the advancement of college and university accounting and reporting. At OSU, Ewing uses his thorough knowledge of accounting standards to guide the institution through complex transactions, including concession agreements and public-private partnerships.

Ewing is also credited for his operational leadership, including developing a tax function within the controller’s office, negotiating increases in OSU’s facilities and administrative cost reimbursement rate, and coordinating audits of the university and affiliated entities. He also serves as the higher education representative to the GASB Disclosure Framework Taskforce.



Peggy Arrivas

Peggy M. Arrivas, University of California Office of the President

Peggy Arrivas is the associate vice president and systemwide controller for the University of California. In her current position, Ms. Arrivas is responsible for the development and implementation of accounting and financial policies for the university and its ten campuses, medical centers, retirement system, the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, and campus foundations. She is also currently serving as the university’s interim director of capital asset strategies.

In addition to Peggy’s many responsibilities on campus, she also is NACUBO’s representative on the Governmental Accounting Standards Advisory Council, where she advises the GASB on behalf of higher education. Additionally, when on NACUBO Accounting Principles Council, she field tested proposed accounting and reporting standards to ensure that requirements were doable and not burdensome.

Ms. Arrivas is also a mentor for the East Bay College Fund, a nonprofit organization that provides college access services, scholarships, mentoring, college counseling, and life skills training to East Bay (primarily Oakland) public school students from low-income families and communities with historically low college attendance rates.



Joan Hagen

Joan Hagen, Indiana University

Joan Hagen, associate vice president and university controller at Indiana University, received this award at the 2018 Higher Education Accounting Forum in April. In her 20 years at Indiana University, Hagen’s accomplishments include implementing and streamlining accounting and reporting processes, leading budget and finance initiatives, and overseeing the annual financial statement audits. Hagen has also served as a volunteer in numerous capacities, including on NACUBO’s Tax Council and Accounting Principles work group.



Jeffrey J. West - University of Utah


Kimberly L. Kvaal - St. Edward's University


Award not presented


Karen Craig - NACUBO


Karl Turro - Northwestern University


Mary S. Wheeler - Stevens Institute of Technology


Teresa Gordon - University of Idaho


Cheryl Soper - University of Michigan



Learn more about NACUBO membership


Related Content

NACUBO On Your Side: November 14–20, 2023

Congress avoids a federal government shutdown this month through a two-step continuing resolution, the IRS releases proposed rules on donor-advised funds, and more.

NACUBO On Your Side: November 21–27, 2023

A Perkins Loan Program reporting deadline is quickly approaching, the IRS proposes energy investment credit rules, and more.

CBO Speaks Episode 137: Mary Lou Ortiz

Vice Chancellor, Finance and Administration and Chief Financial Officer, University of California, Irvine