Skip to content Menu

Established to support NACUBO’s accounting guidance and advocacy efforts, the Accounting Principles Council (APC) consists of volunteer representatives from member institutions. The volunteers are accounting and finance professionals knowledgeable in matters such as financial accounting standards and external financial reporting (FASB and GASB), managerial accounting and reporting, and financial analysis. The APC serves as an advisory body to and is appointed by the President of NACUBO.

Members of the APC serve on various project teams and standing committees, including: Following activities of the Financial Accounting Standards Board and Governmental Accounting Standards Board; Audit Issues and Internal Controls; and Regulatory and Compliance Issues.

Past and notable projects include: higher education's Blank Slate reporting project; endowment accounting issues; Financial Responsibility and the Department of Education; GASB/FASB differences; Sarbanes-Oxley guidance; preparing for an audit; developing an operating measure for independent institutions; benchmarking; interim financial reporting; GASB/NASACT committees; and audit issues.


2022 Council Members

Kelli Hudson Perry – Chair
Assistant Vice President for Finance and Controller
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Chad Greenwell - Vice Chair
Associate Controller
University of Michigan

Robert Kuehler – Past Chair
Associate Vice President and University Controller
University of Colorado

Terri Albertson
Assistant Vice President of Finance and Controller
Haverford College

Shea Bryant
Manager, Financial Analysis and Reporting
Michigan State Universit

Russell DiLeo
University Comptroller
University of Pennsylvania

Teresa Edwards
Texas A&M University System

Tom Ewing
Associate Controller and Director, Financial Reporting
The Ohio State University

Debra Glenn
Assistant Vice President for Business Services/Controller
Salt Lake Community College

Sharon Heinle 1
Associate Vice President and Controller
George Mason University

Jamie Houghtaling
Stevens Institute of Technology

Anita Kovacs 2
Vice President for Business Affairs
Pensacola State College

Karen Mahalo
Associate Controller
Cornell University

Maru Mendoza
Executive Director, Accounting and Financial Reporting
University of Chicago

James Ponce
Associate Vice President, Internal Audit
Wake Forest University

Kerri Tricarico
University Controller and Sr. Assoc. VP Financial Operations
New York University

Shannon Turner
Associate Vice Chancellor and Controller
University of California, San Francisco

1 NACUBO representative – AICPA NFP Panel
2 NACUBO representative – GASAC


Staff Liaisons

Sue Menditto
Senior Director, Accounting Policy

Chris Leach
Accounting Policy Analyst


Experts and Advisors

GASB Matters

Brian Caputo
GASB Board Member
President, College of DuPage

GASB Revenue and Expense Project

Mary L. Fischer (AAA)
Professor of Accounting
University of Texas at Tyler

Technical Advisor

Mary Wheeler
FARM Author and Project Consultant


Sue Menditto

Senior Director, Accounting Policy


Related Content

NACUBO Recommends Improvements to HEERF Quarterly Reporting

NACUBO asked the Department of Education not to separate institutional and student HEERF funding sources when reporting emergency student aid information and to only associate lost revenue funds received with current or planned use, among other recommendations.

GASB Releases Omnibus Standard

Statement No. 99, Omnibus 2022, clarifies various technical issues. Topics include financial guarantees, derivative instruments, right-to-use assets, replacing LIBOR, and nonmonetary transaction disclosures.

Department of Education Encourages Using HEERF for Mental Health Needs

During Mental Health Awareness Month, the Department of Education released an FAQ that strongly encourages institutions to use HEERF funds to meet mental health and substance abuse disorder needs of students. Additional information can be found at NACUBO’s HEERF Resource Center.