My NacuboWhy Join: Benefits of Membership

E-mail:   Password:   

 Remember Me? | Forgot password? | Need an online account?

Membership and Community
Membership and Community

Tax Award

Nomination Requirements

Purpose: To recognize individuals who demonstrate an outstanding commitment to NACUBO's tax advocacy efforts, educational programs, and publications focusing on higher education tax compliance and administration.

Nomination Process: The Awards Council seeks annual nominations for this award from the higher education community and other relevant parties. The recipient is selected in the spring with the presentation of the award to occur during the NACUBO Annual Meeting.

Selection Criteria: Criteria for selection include, but are not limited to:

  • Analysis of impact of proposed federal tax laws and regulations on colleges and universities
  • Leadership in shaping NACUBO advocacy efforts and policy positions, including authoring and collaborating on the development of legislative positions, comments to federal agencies on proposed rules, and appearing to present NACUBO testimony before Congress or federal agencies
  • Outreach to institutions and other stakeholders to foster shared resources, continuing dialogue, education, and a knowledge community around tax issues
  • Communication of guidance and identification of resources that assist institutions' compliance with tax laws and regulations
  • Design, development, and review of professional development programs, publications and other services relating to tax issues

Nature of Award: An inscribed plaque suitable for display and complimentary registration (one) to attend the NACUBO Annual Meeting at which the recipient will receive the award.

Promotion of Award: An annual publicity campaign to provide maximum visibility to the program, including coverage in Business Officer magazine.

2017 Awards Recipients

Past Recipients

Award not presented

Dominic L. Daher - University of San Francisco
Joel F. Levenson - University of Central Florida

Anne Jetmundsen - University of South Florida

Richard F. Klee, Jr. - University of Notre Dame

Dave Caroson - Armstrong Atlantic State University

Barbara H. Morris - Johns Hopkins University

Joseph R. Irvine - Ohio State University

Michael O'Neill - University of California

Kelly D. Farmer - University of Minnesota - Twin Cities

Edward J. Jennings - The University of Michigan

Susan Brooks - The University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Stewart Cobine - Indiana University at Bloomington