My NacuboWhy Join: Benefits of Membership

E-mail:   Password:   

 Remember Me? | Forgot password? | Need an online account?

Membership and Community
Membership and Community

Distinguished Business Officer Award

Nomination Requirements

Purpose: To recognize outstanding achievement in the field of business and financial management in higher education

Nomination Process: The Awards Council seeks annual nominations for this award from the membership. Nomination letters should include a brief vitae, address and telephone number of the nominee, as well as justification for the nomination and selection. A maximum of two awards may be recommended annually. Recipients are selected in the Spring with the presentation of the award to occur at the NACUBO Annual Meeting.

Selection Criteria: An individual who has made an outstanding contribution in the field of business and financial management in higher education, normally over a number of years, may be considered for this award. Membership in NACUBO is preferred but not considered a mandatory requirement. Service as an administrative, business, or financial officer for an institution of higher education is to be considered a normal but not mandatory requirement. Individuals serving in the following position(s) will not be eligible for the award until one year after they last served in the position(s):

  • Directors or Officers of the NACUBO Board of Directors
  • Individuals serving as Chair of the NACUBO Board
  • Presidents of regional associations and those in the chairs of ascendancy
  • Employees of NACUBO

Nature of Award: Details and benefits of receiving the award are as follows: crystal stone-alone award, suitable for display; awardees name to be added to a master plaque displayed within the NACUBO national office; honorary individual life membership in NACUBO, including a life subscription to the Business Officer magazine; waiver of annual meeting fees for award and spouse/guest for the awarding year only; transportation and hotel accommodations for three nights at the annual meeting for Awardees and their spouse/guest when the award is presented.

Promotion of Award: An annual publicity campaign to provide maximum visibility to the program, including coverage in Business Officer magazine.

Download Nomination Form

2017 Award Recipients

Past Recipients

Jairy C. Hunter Jr. - Charleston Southern University
Joanne Yestramski - University of Massachusetts Lowell

John D. Patterson - Pittsburg State University

Edward M. DesPlas - Dallas County Community College District
Robert Huth - Stetson University

Fred A. Rogers - Carleton College
Benjamin F. Quillian- California State University

Ed O. McFarlane - Reed College
James R. Tucker - Drexel University

Richard K. Smith - Earlham College
Karen Van Derhoof - County College of Morris

Natalie "Nikki" Krawitz - University of Missouri System

Ed MacKay - University System of New Hampshire
Yoke San Reynolds - University of Virginia

David C.  Bosserman - Oklahoma State University
Richard R. Spies - Brown University

Robert K. Thompson - Georgia Institute of Technology
Richard P. West - The California State University

Carol Campbell - Arizona State University Tempe Campus
Thomas Hawk - Community College of Philadelphia

Mernoy E. Harrison, Jr. - Arizona State University, Downtown Phoenix Campus
Mohammad Humayon Qayoumi - California State University, Northridge

Ralph H. Beaudoin - The Catholic University of America
Steven W. Relyea - University of California, San Diego

Joe Mullinix - University of California
John Palmucci - Loyola College

Wendell Brase - University of California, Irvine
George Worsley - North Carolina State University

Emerson H. Fly - The University of Tennessee
Minnis E. Ridenour - Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

Jack C. Blanton - University of Kentucky, Lexington
C. Joseph Carter - Western Carolina University

David A. Lieberman - University of Miami
James F. Sullivan - University of California, Davis

Weldon E. Ihrig - University of Washington
John D. Mulholland - Indiana University

Robert D. Flanigan, Jr. - Spelman College
David J. Lyons - The Rockefeller University

Caspa L. Harris, Jr.

John A. Falcone - SUNY Institute of Technology at Utica/Rome
Margaret M. Healy - Bryn Mawr College

R. Eugene Smith - University of Memphis
Dennis F. Dougherty - University of Southern California

Warren R. Madden - Iowa State University
James E. Morley, Jr. - Cornell University

James F. Brinkerhoff - University of Michigan

The Honorable Fred S. Vorsanger - University of Arkansas
H. Sedge Thomson - University of Washington

W. Harold Read - University of Tennessee
Ray C. Hunt, Jr. - University of Virginia

W. Harold M. Myers - Drexel University
Frederick R. Ford - Purdue University, Main Campus

James W. Bryant - Ford Foundation
Roger D. Lowe - Wichita State University
Kenneth A. Dick - University of Idaho

Mary M. Lai - Long Island University
Harold K. Logan - Tuskegee University
Robert W. Meyer - Ohio Wesleyan University

Ernest M. Conrad - University of Washington
Anthony D. Lazzaro - University of Southern California
James J. Ritterskamp, Jr. - Vassar College

James B. Clark - Howard University
Daniel D. Robinson - Peat Marwick Main & Co.

Burnett A. Little - Southern University/Moton Institute
Wilbur K. Piermont - University of Michigan
Clarence Scheps - Tulane University