My NacuboWhy Join: Benefits of Membership

E-mail:   Password:   

 Remember Me? | Forgot password? | Need an online account?


Notice Inviting Applications for Designation as Eligible Institutions for Fiscal Year (FY) 2006

Federal Register, December 16, 2005, Page 74781-74783


Department of Education




Purpose of Programs: Under the SIP, TCCU, and ANNH Programs, (Title III, Part A programs) authorized under Part A of Title III of the Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended (HEA), institutions of higher education (IHEs or institutions) are eligible to apply for grants if they meet specific statutory and regulatory eligibility requirements.

Similarly, institutions of higher education are eligible to apply for grants under the HSI program, authorized under Title V of the HEA, if they meet specific statutory and regulatory requirements. In addition, an institution that is designated as an eligible institution under those programs may also receive a waiver of certain non-Federal share requirements under the Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (FSEOG), the Federal Work Study (FWS), the Student Support Services (SSS) and the Undergraduate International Studies and Foreign Language (UISFL) Programs. The FSEOG, FWS, and SSS Programs are authorized under Title IV of the HEA; the UISFL Program is authorized under Title VI of the HEA.


Deadline for Transmittal of Applications: February 24, 2006 for an applicant institution that wishes to be designated as eligible to apply for a FY 2006 new grant under the Title III, Part A program or the HSI program; June 15, 2006 for an institution that wishes to apply only for cost-sharing waivers under the FSEOG, FWS, SSS, or UISFL Programs; and, February 24, 2006 for an institution that wishes to apply for both a grant under the Title III, Part A programs or the HSI program and a waiver of the Non-Federal share requirement.


Applications must be submitted electronically, unless you meet criteria for an exception. See notice for details.

Further Information

For applications and further information contact: Imogene Byers, Kelley Harris, or Carnisia Proctor, Institutional Development and Undergraduate Education Service, U.S. Department of Education, 1990 K Street, NW., room 6033, Request for Eligibility Designation, Washington, DC 20202-8513. You can contact these individuals at the following e-mail addresses or phone numbers: Imogene.Byers@ed.gov_202-502-7672 Kelley.Harris@ed.gov_202-219-7083 Imogene.Byers@ed.gov_202-502-7672 Carnisia.Proctor@ed.gov_202-502-7606 If you use a telecommunications device for the deaf (TDD), you may call the Federal Relay Service (FRS) at 1-800-877-8339.