My NacuboWhy Join: Benefits of Membership

E-mail:   Password:   

 Remember Me? | Forgot password? | Need an online account?

Business and Policy Areas
Business and Policy Areas

Nine Campuses Named Green Ribbon Schools

May 4, 2015

This year, the U.S. Department of Education broadened the scope of its Green Ribbon Schools (ED-GRS) program to include postsecondary institutions, selecting nine campuses to receive the recognition for the first time in the program's history. Prior to 2015, only K-12 schools submitted nominations via their state's education authority.

ED-GRS award criteria include reduced environmental impact and costs, improved health and wellness, and effective environmental education. More than two dozen states submitted nominations, but not all submitted a postsecondary nominee.

The nine Green Ribbon Schools are:

  • Auburn University, Auburn, Ala.
  • Colorado State University, Fort Collins
  • The George Washington University, Washington, DC
  • Kirkwood Community College, Cedar Rapids, Iowa
  • Western Kentucky University, Bowling Green
  • University of Minnesota at Morris
  • Northampton Community College, Bethlehem, Pa.
  • University of Virginia, Charlottesville
  • Western Technical College, La Crosse, Wis.

In addition to the nine colleges and universities, 58 K-12 schools and 14 school districts were honored. Interested schools, districts, colleges and universities should contact their state education authorities for information on how to apply for the 2016 Green Ribbon Schools awards. State selection committees may include state education agencies, state higher education agencies, governors' offices, and outside partners.


Sally Grans Korsh
Director, Facilities Management and Environmental Policy