My NacuboWhy Join: Benefits of Membership

E-mail:   Password:   

 Remember Me? | Forgot password? | Need an online account?

Business and Policy Areas
Business and Policy Areas

9 Campuses Named Green Ribbon Schools

May 30, 2017

The Department of Education has recognized nine colleges and universities among the 2017 Green Ribbon Schools.

The award is based on reduced environmental impact and costs, improved health and wellness, and effective environmental education. Institutions must be nominated by their states for consideration.  

The nine colleges and universities recognized as 2017 Green Ribbon Schools are:

University of Alabama at Birmingham. The institution has had success with its living laboratory program; look for its sustainability poster at the NACUBO 2017 Annual Meeting to learn more.

Colorado Mountain College. This two-year institution reduced its carbon footprint and integrated sustainability into both operations and teaching efforts.

University of Georgia. The university has reduced water usage by 31 percent and energy use by 20 percent since 2007.

Iowa Lakes Community College. This institution uses wind and geothermal energy for operations and robust training.

Louisiana State University. In an urban setting, the university has developed bike, recycling, and energy-efficient programs. 

Bemidji State University (MN). Home to one of the nation’s first environmental studies programs, the university has continued to be innovative.    

Keene State College (NH). The college has developed many programs, including the nation’s first initiative to replace polluting heating oil with a carbon-neutral, renewable biofuel made from 100 percent purified recycled vegetable oils.

Rhode Island College. The institution works with many diverse community partners to advance environmental awareness and improvements.      

University of Wisconsin–Stevens Point. Sustainability is a unifying thread for its postsecondary goals and achievements.

In addition to the college and university honorees, 45 schools and nine districts received the designation this year. More information on this year’s recipients and their sustainability successes is available on the Department of Education's Green Ribbon Schools website.


Sally Grans Korsh
Director, Facilities Management and Environmental Policy