My NacuboWhy Join: Benefits of Membership

E-mail:   Password:   

 Remember Me? | Forgot password? | Need an online account?


Comprehensive and Doctoral Institutions Council

The Comprehensive and Doctoral Institutions Council (CDIC) is a standing council appointed by the NACUBO President in consultation with the regional associations. The Council is established to ensure that issues of specific concern to comprehensive and doctoral colleges and universities are represented and addressed in the development of the association’s strategic plans and in the creation of programs, products, and services for its members. The Comprehensive and Doctoral Institutions Council serves as an advisory body to the President and staff by providing suggestions, feedback, and support for the association’s goals and activities as they pertain to the constituency.

Top Issues 2014-15 

  • Outsourcing non-core auxiliaries/non-academic functions
  • Supporting international students, speakers and working with international suppliers
  • Prioritizing academic programs
  • Achieving next level of sustainability initiatives
  • Managing deferred maintenance
  • Space utilization
  • Economic models for the future

Top Issues for 2020 and Beyond

  • Executive strategic leadership-drawing together the CBO, CAO, CEO, and the board to get on the same page and in the same direction
  • Financial modeling based on strategic direction and new higher education business models
  • Organizational design-challenging the traditional organization chart; assessing skills needed for the future; outsourcing as appropriate; making better use of student employees
  • Cost structure and shared services; eliminating non-value added expenses to improve cost containment; revenue diversification

Council Members 2014-2015 

Rick Anderson (Chair)
Vice President for Administration and Treasurer
Washburn University

Corey Bradford Sr.
Senior Vice President for Business Affairs
Prairie View A&M University

Dean Calvo
Senior Vice President Finance and Administration/Treasurer
Claremont Graduate University

Ken Cody
Vice President for Administration and Business/Treasurer
Bentley University

Sheila K. Gestring
Vice President for Finance and CFO
University of South Dakota

Gerald L. Hector
Vice President for Finance and Administration
Ithaca College

Mary Ellen Heuton
Senior Vice President for Finance/Chief Financial Officer
Marshall University

Lorraine B. Hoffman
Vice President for Business and Finance
California State University, Chico

Paul B. Lasiter
Chief Financial Officer
Pepperdine University

Greg M. Lovins
Vice Chancellor for Business Affairs
Appalachian State University

Tammy L. H. McGee
Vice President for Finance and Administration
St. Cloud State University

Stacy Pearson
Vice President for Finance and Administration
Boise State University



Maryann Terrana
Director, Member Engagement