My NacuboWhy Join: Benefits of Membership

E-mail:   Password:   

 Remember Me? | Forgot password? | Need an online account?


Community Colleges Council

The Community Colleges Council is a standing council appointed by the NACUBO President in consultation with the regional associations. The Council is established to ensure that issues of specific concern to community colleges are represented and addressed in the development of the association’s strategic goals and plans and in the creation of programs, products, and services for its members. The Community Colleges Council serves as an advisory body to the President and staff by providing feedback and support for the association’s goals and activities as they pertain to the constituency.

Top Issues 2016-17

  • Student retention and graduation rates
  • Academic and non-academic program review
  • Shift in the paradigm of the economic model, encompassing budget challenges and alternative revenue sources
  • Free tuition nationwide for community college students

Top Issues for 2020 and Beyond

  • Addressing open access, completion, enrollment cost, and the definition, calculation, and tracking of successful outcomes
  • Reworking the business model
  • Online education and for-profit competition
  • Accountability and public perception
  • Deferred maintenance

Council Members 2017-18

Melissa Beardmore (Chair)
Vice President of Learning Resources Management
Anne Arundel Community College (MD)

Jeff Boudouris
Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer
Sinclair Community College (OH)

Lisa Freiburger
Executive Vice President Business/Financial Services
Grand Rapids Community College (MI)

Brian Furuto
Vice Chancellor, Administrative Services
Kapi'olani Community College (HI)

Kelli Hahn
Vice President, Finance
Lake Michigan College (MI)

Choi Halladay
Vice President of Administrative Services
Pierce College District (WA)

Joe Mazur
Vice President, Administration & Finance
College of Central Florida (FL)

Mark McClendon
Vice Chancellor for Finance
Tarrant County College District (TX)

Aletha Shipley
Vice President and CFO & Treasurer
Columbus State Community College (OH)

Hezekiah Simmons
CFO and Vice President, Administrative Services
Monroe Community College (NY)

Sheryl Vittitoe
Vice President of Financial Services
Indian River State College (FL)

Teri Zamora
Senior Vice Chancellor, Finance & Administration
Houston Community College System (TX)


Maryann Terrana
Director, Member Engagement